Vinyl Theif "Stop Motion" out 2/4/14 & Tour

Written by Josh Snider

Nashville, TN - Electro-rock outfit, Vinyl Thief, have announced that they will be releasing a new EP, "Stop Motion," on February 4th, 2014 - a preview to their upcoming full-length, set to release in Spring 2014. You can stream the title-track exclusively on Noisey here: "Stop Motion" is the follow up single to "Smooth," which Vinyl Thief released in August 2013 to much received buzz on the Hype Machine charts. The band has been catching the eyes and ears of critics including Paste Magazine who coined them as a "Band You Should Listen To Now." For more information and upcoming tour dates, visit: Pre-order "Stop Motion" on iTunes here:

About the inspiration behind the band's new song, "Stop Motion," lead vocalist, Grayson Proctor, says, "'Stop Motion' to be honest, is really just a dialogue I had with myself one night. After losing something, I was trying to find 'the comfort' in the situation...struggling to." He continues, "I needed to see the bigger picture, but could only see things on a smaller scale."

Vinyl Thief released their debut EP, "Rebel Hill" in 2012, and took their live show on the road shortly after, opening for the likes of the Joy Formidable, Little Green Cars, Youngblood Hawke, and Wild Cub. They also performed memorable sets at festivals including CMJ and SXSW. The band played the Beautiful Buzz SXSW 2013 Showcase, earning a reputation for their insanely kinetic live show. Beautiful Buzz sang the band's praises, "They stuffed their gear onto my little stage... and proceeded to slay that room to teeny tiny pieces."

Vinyl Thief's upcoming Stop Motion EP previews their recently completed full length, which the band will be releasing later this year. The new songs are snapshots of a tumultuous year. They explore and realize the process required to get through and get on with life. It ends with redemption, of sorts: realizing that things will be different, but still, it will be all right. New York Minute raved about the first song off the EP, "Smooth," saying, "If this song is any indication, their upcoming full-length is going to be a work of immense weight and power." Stream "Smooth" on the band's Soundcloud here:

"The four of us taught each other how to play music", says Proctor. "We turned an old church sanctuary into our own base camp, and we would get together almost every day and learn how to play, perform, and write. There was a while where we were at the sanctuary more than we were our own homes. It was all we wanted to do."

The band is - Grayson Proctor (vocals, synth), Logan Purdom (guitar), Sam English (keys), & Andrew Broadway (drums).

"Stop Motion" Tracklisting:
01. Smooth
02. Faces
03. Slow Down
04. Stop Motion

Upcoming Shows:
1/28 - Jackson, TN @ Barefoots Joe
2/18 - New York, NY @ Pianos
2/19 - Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie w/ Electric Hearts
2/21 - Athens, GA @ The Green Room w/ Machines Are People Too




Latest Articles and Interviews